Homemade Fruit Roll-ups

image

I was experimenting with dehydrating with my oven the other day and I have to say, it was a success!  I made dehydrated kiwi peices and I made two flavors of fruit roll-ups or fruit leather.  I made strawberry and mango.  The best part about the fruit roll-ups is that the ONLY ingredient is fruit! The hardest part is the waiting! To dehydrate takes about 6-8 hours to complete on the lowest setting in the oven.   My oven was at 160 degrees, the fruit leather took about 6 hours, the kiwi took about 8 hours.

image

First add fruit to food processor

image

process until thin

image

pour on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, before putting into the oven hit the cookie sheet on the counter a few times to remove any air bubbles, bake at 160F (or the lowest setting of your oven), and then WAIT 6 LONG HOURS!

image

I left on the parchment paper, cut into strips, and rolled up!  I stored in an airtight tupperware container.  I’m not sure the shelf life, because we finished them all within 5 days, but they were just as fresh on day 5 as day 1!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

