Protein Donuts 

IMG_2323

Chocolate protein frosting with adorable Sprinkles!

        I just recieved the donut baking pan I bought from Amazon.com and I had to try it out immediately! Tonight before work I made protein donuts with a protein frosting.  I got this recipe originally from www.questnutrition.com but I tweeked it just a little

donut recipe:

  • 1 scoop (1/2 cup) vanilla protein powder (I used Abouttime)
  • 4 tbs coconut flour
  • 4 tbs canned pumpkin
  • 4 tbs milk of choice (dairy, almond, etc.) I used whole milk, it was all I had available
  • 1 whole egg (you can decrease fats by using 3 tbs egg whites)
  • 2 tbs nut butter (i used maple almond butter)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ** I added both vanilla extract and pumpkin pie spice– eyeballed both, sorry for the inaccuracy
IMG_2325

Fresh out of the oven!

Frosting recipe:

  • 1/2 scoop Quest Nutrition Chocolate Protein Powder
  • 1 heaping tablespoon greek yogurt
  • water to desired consistency (about 3 tbs)

IMG_2324

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all donut ingredients together and put into a donut pan.    Bake for 5-10 minutes.  Mix ingredients for frosting together.  Once donuts are cool, dip into frosting and top with fun toppings!!

 

IMG_2327

Felt a little gluttonous and added crumbled bacon.  Who doesn’t love bacon?! Anyway, This recipe made 4 total good sized donuts.  The macros INCLUDING frosting are:

148calorie  6F  8C  14P  per donut

Not too shabby for this tasty treat!  My boyfriend and I ate one of each, I wouldn’t have guessed I was consuming 28grams of protein! Next time I am going to try with egg whites only and experiment with different protein flavors!  I’ll keep you posted 🙂

 

IMG_2328

mmmmmmm bacon!

 

Leave a Reply

