Pumpkin Pie Protein Shake

I know, I know, It’s a little early to hop on the pumpkin pie wagon–we just got to summer! But, I had an open can of pumpkin in my refrigerator from the protein donuts I made earlier this week and I wanted to use it.  I just finished a killer crossfit workout  and I was in desperate need for protein–LIGHT BULB : protein shake!!

Pumpkin Pie Protein Shake topped with Pumpkin Pie Spice

Recipe:

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein (I used Abouttime)
  • 1/3c fat free cottage cheese
  • 1/3c pure pumpkin
  • 3/4c egg whites (I used AllWhites)
  • 1 packet sweetener of choice (I like truvia)
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Mix all ingredients in blender and enjoy!

Macros:

396 calories    0f     38c     57p

There you have it!  A high protein fat free pumpkin pie “dessert!”  Some readers may be curious about adding uncooked egg whites into your smoothie, but as long as they are pasteurized you are in the clear!  Some cartons of egg whites actually list smoothie recipes on the back!  It is a great way to add extra protein to your shake without any flavor or carbs.  I use it as my liquid for all protein shakes.  If it really creeps you out you can ABSOLUTELY replace the eggwhites with liquid of choice–almond milk, milk, water, etc.  

Leave a Reply

