Two flavorful Chicken Recipes to Meal Prep

I am constantly varying up my flavors and spices for my healthy/clean meal prep recipes.  Let’s face it.  You would turn into a pretty resentful and depressed human being if you ate season-less baked chicken with veggies for every. single. meal.  By using natural ingredients, such as citrus juices and herbs, you can add flavor without compromising the nutritional values. Last night, I made two different chicken recipes–mainly because those chicken breasts were on sale at the grocery store for a great price!   I made Buffalo Chicken Meatballs and Cilantro Lime Chicken.  For the ingredients needed: Buffalo Chicken Meatballs:

  • 2 lbs ground chicken
  • 4 stalks of celery, minced
  • 3-4 green onions, chopped
  • 4 tablespoons coconut flour
  • 2 egg whites
  • 5 tablespoons hot sauce, I used Franks–duh.
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • dash of crushed red pepper flakes–depending on how spicy you like

Buffalo Chicken Meatballs about to go into Oven!

I think it’s easier to place my meatballs into a mini cupcake pan  because it helps me make them a more uniform size.  Bake at 375 F for about 25-30 minutes, or until internal temp reaches at least 165F Made 24 meatballs, I placed 4 per tupperware (~60z ) MACROS: (for 4)   271 Cal    12.9F   5C   32  P   While those were baking,  I began to marinate the chicken breasts. Cilantro Lime Chicken Marinade:

  • 3 fresh limes
  • Chicken breast -I used two packages, they were almost 2 lbs each.
  • bundle of fresh cilantro, or  heaping amount of “Gourmet Garden” cilantro paste
    • This is found near the fresh veggies. I love these things! They taste JUST like fresh herbs, but they do not go bad as fast–the whole tube is 3 bunches of herb and lasts months in the fridge.
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Add all ingredients into a large bowl.  Mix and let sit for at least 30 minutes. While this was marinating: Mixed Vegetable Sautee:

  • Green beans– 1/2 the family sized package
  • Asparagus Spears–had about 6
  • Yellow Onion
  • Dash of Garlic powder
  • Parsley– I used the fresh parsley paste–a couple squeezes worth

Add nonstick cooking spray to large fry pan.  Add ingredients and cook covered, stirring frequently, for about 10 minutes, or until all vegetables are soft.

Mixed Vegetables to go with Buffalo Chicken Meatballs

Now, it was time to put the chicken breasts into the oven.  Your meatballs should be finished cooking at this time. Put your oven at 350 F.  Line a large baking sheet with tin foil and place chicken on.  Cook for 20-30 minutes or until internal temperature is at least 165F. While this was baking, I had time to place the meatballs and vegetables in tupperware containers. I also took three Zucchinis and made “Zoodles” — you can just cut these normal and sautee them.  

  • 3 Zucchini
  • Minced Garlic
  • Parsley (decided against basil after I took the picture)

Combine ingredients and cook–covered, in fry pan with nonstick cooking spray on med-low.  Done in about 5-7 minutes or until soft. I then sauteed up the rest of the family sized pack of green beans to fill the void of where I needed more Veg for some of my chicken meals.  Then placed all in tupperware.  I made sure each meal had 6 oz. of protein, then eye-balled the vegetables, about one cup each meal.

5 thoughts on “Two flavorful Chicken Recipes to Meal Prep

  1. Pingback: Tacos and Southwest Stuffed Sweet Potatoes  | a health & fitness blog

  2. Pingback: 1 Week Until Showtime ! | a health & fitness blog

Leave a Reply

