How Much Water Should You Be Drinking?


I’m sure you’ve heard it before– 8 glasses of water a day is the recommended amount. Eight 8 ounce glasses of water a day has been drilled into our minds.  It may be a decent place to start, but actually your water intake should vary based on your weight and your activity levels.  Let’s think about it– is it logical that the body of a  225 pound man and the body of a 100 pound female will both require the same 64 ounces water? Probably not.  Now, let’s say that this 225 pound man is a bodybuilder and spends 2 hours a day in the gym, while the female is relatively sedentary– should they both be drinking only 64 ounces of water a day? No!

How to calculate how much water you should be drinking– start with your weight.  It is recommended that one should consume 1/2 ounce to 1 ounce water per pound of bodyweight.  Let’s aim for right in the middle at 2/3 or 66.7%— Take your body weight and multiply it by 2/3.

I weigh 150lbs (x 0.667) = 100 ounces.

So on a daily basis I should try to consume at least 100 ounces of water (or about 12.5 eight ounce cups per day) This is without exercise or heat included!  Generally, you should consume an additional 8-12 ounces per every 30 minutes of exercise.  If you are living in a very hot climate and spend a good amount of time outside you should factor this water in as well.

If I spend about two hours at the gym that means I should consume an additional 32-48 ounces of water.

This brings my grand total for the day to 132-148 ounces of water! That is a LOT of the clear stuff! A gallon of water is equal to 128 fluid ounces!  It may seem crazy, but the benefits of drinking water are undeniable. You will find me in the gym with my gallon water jug at all times.  I have gotten used to consuming about a gallon each day and I have noticed a heck of a difference!   It was my New Years Resolution to begin drinking more water–since my skin has been more radiant, my work outs have improved, I have been less fatigued, and my appetite has been less (some days are better than others 😛 )

I carry my gallon with me everywhere 🙂

I drink water as soon as I wake up, a glass BEFORE every single meal, before my workout, during my workout, and after my work out.

Ease into it.  I wouldn’t recommend going from 3 glasses to 1 gallon all at once. You will probably feel awful and bloated.  Ease into it–add a cup of water every day until you’re able to drink your required amount.

DITCH THE SODA! It is doing nothing for your body–no good is coming from it.  DITCH IT. Replace your soda with flavor infused water.  They make water diffuser pitchers and water bottles now, try one!  Infuse your water with fresh cucumber, mint, and lime.  Or Strawberry and lemon.  Anything you can think of–the possibilities are endless!  You can also try sparkling water if it’s the bubbles that keep you interested.

4 thoughts on “How Much Water Should You Be Drinking?

Leave a Reply

