Snacks “Fit” for Travel

This past weekend my boyfriend and I took a two day trip to Ft Lauderdale, Florida for his Olympic weight lifting competition. Any time travel is involved, it becomes a little more difficult to keep to a diet or fitness regime.  In order to keep on track one must plan ahead. Just as I preach pre packed lunches for work, I recommend bringing a cooler with pre packed diet friendly foods. Even if you are traveling by plane you are allowed to bring on your own snacks in a carry on soft cooler–as long as your containers are 2-3oz or less.

Best travel friendly foods:

  • Beef jerky
  • Baby carrots
  • Hard boiled eggs
  • Almonds
  • Quest bars
  • Apples
  • Grapes
  • Dehydrated fruit
  • Turkey -I found Jennie-o turkey sticks near deli meats  

We were driving so we were able to pack a large cooler

In the cooler I brought with me :

  • A couple of meal prep dinners (cilantro lime chicken and southwest sweet potatoes..yum !)
  • Bottles of water
  • Cottage cheese –pictured to your right, eating straight from the container during the competition. Matt was slightly embarrassed.
  • String cheese
  • Turkey deli meat
  • Whole wheat bread
  • Cherries
  • Watermelon
  • Protein powder
  • Instant original oatmeal packets

This is also a great way of saving money! My boyfriend and I did not have to go out for any meals during our trip!

Overall,  We had a great time in Ft Lauderdale! My boyfriend took 4th overall at his weight lifting competition which was incredible for the amount of talented athletes he competed with! I’m very proud of him!  We had a day at the beach and a day at the hotel pool. It was a good stay-cation and helped relieve some stress from work.

What are your favorite travel snacks ?? 

5 thoughts on “Snacks “Fit” for Travel

  1. Congratulations to him on his placement, that’s quite impressive considering the amount of competition. Great list of snacks!
    My favorite snack is Thai Chili lime Cashews from Trader Joes. They are quite addicting

    Like

  2. I never leave the house without a few Quest bars stashed in my purse. They have saved me more than once when I’ve been stuck in traffic, at airports, etc. I usually travel with those, turkey sausage snack sticks, and a baggie full of walnuts.

    I wish I could do cottage cheese, but I’ve never been able to get past the texture. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

