Creamy Avocado Sauce

If you are anything like me, after a while of dieting with pretty clean foods you begin to miss creamy.  Like Mac n cheese, creamy. Or chicken alfredo, creamy.  Cream is just something that is hard to incorporate into a healthy lifestyle being so darn high in fats. I thought long and hard about what I could make a cream sauce with that wasn’t so high in fats and came up with nothing. That is why I decided to replace those fats with “good fats” and make a creamy sauce with avocado.

The ingredients you will need are:
Avocado cream sauce: (made total of six 1/2c servings –3 cups total)

  • 3 avocados (I used 2 1/2 for my sauce –the other half of my avocado was too ripe)
  • 1 lemon- juiced
  • 1 cup Fat free Greek yogurt
  • 1 package of fresh basil (about 1 cup)
  • 5 cloves of garlic (2 1/2 tsp minced)
  • 2 tbs olive oil

I cooked up about two lbs of chicken as well to go with the sauce. Portioned 6ounces for each serving.

You can use spaghetti of choice, but you know me by now–I used 3 zucchini to make “zoodles”


Honestly if you don’t have a vegetable spiraler I recommend this one! It’s so easy to clean and easy to use! The other night I made sweet potato curly fries…


Yum!! So easy! Such a neat TWIST on the normal sweet potato fry. Literally 🙂 Here is the vegetable spiraler I use:

Spiralizer® Tri-Blade Vegetable Spiral Slicer

Anyway, back to the recipe,

I made my zoodles and steamed them in the microwave for 5 minutes. Or begin to cook your spaghetti now.

If you are cooking a protein to go with the dish, begin that now. I put about two pounds of cut and cleaned chicken breast into the oven at 360F with a quick spray of EVOO cooking spray, garlic powder, and pepper. Baked for about 30 minutes.

Now onto the sauce,

Combine avocados, juice of 1 lemon, garlic, basil, and olive oil into a food processor. Blend until smooth. Add one cup of Greek yogurt and fold in until combined.

This sauce is awesome by itself. It would be a perfect party dip for vegetables!!   You can meal prep with it because the lemon juice will keep the avocado from browning !!
I added all the ingredients together (sauce, 6oz chicken, and about 1 cup zoodles) and mixed all together until sauce covered everything. Voilà!


Super pretty, super yummy, and SUPER EASY! 🙂

Macros for 1 cup zoodles, 6oz chicken, and 1/2 c sauce :

4 thoughts on “Creamy Avocado Sauce

Leave a Reply

