Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Cupcakes

I have been in quite the baking mood lately. Such an intense baking mood that in a brash decision I told my boyfriend I was going to start a business selling protein baked goods to gyms and fitness centers locally—as if my full time nursing position at the hospital and part time position at the outpatient center isn’t enough for me!!  I think I’ll just continue to bake recreationally and share my recipes with you loyal blog readers 🙂

My first protein cupcake attempt were chocolate peanut butter cupcakes with a peanut butter protein frosting.

IMG_3138

Cupcakes – Serving Size: 6 Cupcakes
– 1/4 cup  peanut butter-flavored Whey Protein ( I used Cellucor Peanut Butter Marshmallow)
– 1/4 cup whole wheat flour  ( I actually used 1/8 c. whole wheat, and 1/8 c. self rising flour)
– 1/3 tsp Baking Soda
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 1 tbsp unsweetened Cocoa Powder
– 2/3 cup Almond Milk  (I used Reduced Sugar vanilla)
– 1 tsp Vanilla Extract

**I did not have any but, I think it would be good to add a couple tbs of PB2 powdered peanut butter to the mix!

Frosting

  • 1/2 cup plain fat free greek yogurt
  • 1/2 scoop peanut butter protein powder
  • 1 packet of stevia/sweetener of choice
  • Capful of almond milk until desired consistency.  I think I added 5-6 capfuls  For my frosting!
  • Optional (BUT DELICIOUS): 2 tbs melted peanut butter

Preheat oven to 350F.  Combine all ingredients for cupcakes in a medium size bowl.  Add batter to a muffin tin, lined with cupcake liners–spray the cupcake liners with a nonstick cooking spray.  Bake for 12-15 minutes until cooked through– touch tops of cupcakes, if it doesn’t sink in –and springs back, its done!

Mix greek yogurt,  peanut butter flavored protein, and stevia together.  One capful at a time, add almond milk until desired consistency.

  I went ahead and melted some peanut butter and drizzled it on top, because PEANUT BUTTER. 

Macros (with peanut butter drizzle) per cupcake
Calories: 101  3.5F  8.2C  10.1 P

Recipe modified from:
http://www.rippedrecipes.com/recipe/chocolate-peanut-butter-protein-cupcakes-3831.html

Stay Tuned for Funfetti Protein Cupcake recipe! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Cupcakes

  1. Hi Rachel! These look awesome! I’m not the best at baking… do you think I could substitute almond flour for the wheat and use applesauce (unsweetened) for the sweetener without compromising the baking process?
    Thank you for this motivation! I have been horrible with the sweets lately and it is showing!:\
    Greta

    Like

    • You should be good with the almond flour , but the sweetener is only used in the frosting to sweeten the plain Greek yogurt — I think the applesauce would give the frosting a lumpy weird texture If anything just use a vanilla flavored Greek yogurt ? Or even add a dash of vanilla extract to the plain to add sweetness ! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Rachel!

    These look absolutely delicious! What a great idea to drizzle melted Peanut Butter on top too!!

    I had a question, when you’re modifying recipes do you normally substitute similar ingredients or kind of go on a limb with new flavors/spices?

    Seriously can’t wait to try these!

    Like

Leave a Reply

