Funfetti Protein Cupcakes

As promised, cupcake recipe number two from my protein baking adventure last week! A Funfetti Cupcake with Protein frosting 🙂 At only 80 calories each, you will love these!  They are the perfect treat that you can eat without any guilt!

Funfetti Protein Cupcakes

Ingredients:

1 ¼ cup oat flour (used instant oats-ground in nutribullet to powder)

3 Tbs coconut flour

1 scoop Cellucor Cor-fetti Cake Protein Powder

1/3 cup fat free cottage cheese

3 egg whites

¼ cup greek yogurt (or unsweetened applesauce) –I used 0% greek yogurt

½ cup vanilla almond milk ( i used reduced sugar )

1/3 cup baking stevia or sweetener of choice

1 tsp almond extract

1 tsp baking powder

Frosting

½ scoop Cellucor Corfetti Cake Protein Powder

1 tbs greek yogurt

Almond milk until desired consistency—I added capfuls until reaching the consistency I wanted   about 5 capfuls of almond milk total

Optional: Additional Sprinkles

Preheat oven to 350F. Mix all of your dry ingredients together. In a separate bowl mix your wet ingredients together. Combine wet and dry until completely mixed, Put muffin liners into a muffin tin and spray liners with a butter flavored nonstick cooking spray. Add batter to eat liner filling about ¾ the way. This recipe made about 10-12 cupcakes.  Put in oven for about 7-10 minutes, I did the touch test– if you touch the tops of the cupcakes and it sinks–they’re not ready.  If you touch and it springs back, READY!  Let cupcakes cool completely.

For the frosting, add your protein powder and your greek yogurt, add 1 capful or tsp almond milk and stir.  Continue to add small amounts of almond milk until your desired consistency.  It was about 5-6 capfuls for mine.    Top with additional sprinkles and Enjoy!

The cupcakes were not dense as you normally see when baking with whey protein. They were light and perfect 🙂 You will not believe the macros of these cupcakes!  WITH the frosting included ONLY:

80 calories  1.4 Fat  9.7 Carbs 7.6 Protein

  

8 thoughts on “Funfetti Protein Cupcakes

  1. Reblogged this on hungryspokeswoman and commented:
    As soon as I saw this recipe from Third Shift Fit I knew I had to try it.

    One thing I personally find hardest about eating healthily is eating less cake – I just love cake! Normally I try and do an extra workout or cut out something else on the days I want to indulge in a slice, but with this recipe…well, with a massive 2g fibre and 7g protein and only 1g fat and 10g of carbohydrate per cake this will be easy to fit into any day! I might even have two! (And for calorie counters, they come in at just 80 calories each!)

    They are easy to make too, literally throw one lot of ingredients in one bowl and the rest in a second, mix, then mix them all together and bake. Took me 1 hour from start to finish, but that’s only because I only have a 6-hole muffin pan and I made 15! Could easily be done in 30 minutes, allowing a little extra time for them to cool before decorating.

    I don’t use the same brand of protein that Rachael does, so I used My Protein Deluxe Impact Whey Velvet Vanilla – but the nutrition must be about the same as the overall cupcakes came out with the same calories/proteins etc. as the originals.

    I definitely recommend these, they are tasty (not exactly like real cake but close enough you don’t really notice), quick and easy to make, and provide great nutrition – what’s not to love!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

