Competition-Prep Friendly Egg Breakfast Quiche 

Vegetables for breakfast? If you’re anything like me, this concept is out of this world foreign to me. Where do the vegetables go on this stack of pancakes?? Breakfast, in my mind, is best served sweet! But, I’ve been feeling a bit hungry during the past week while prepping for my bikini competition approaching — and the answer to that, without increasing calories much, is to add vegetables. Imagine my excitement .. But, although my appetite is not, my head is focused on the goal I want to achieve and all the extra green stuff will be worth it in the end.

So, how do I incorporate vegetables into breakfast? Well, an omelette would work..BUT I don’t have the time to be preparing omletes every morning !! So I came up with the idea for a quiche and rolled with it !!

8 servings

Low Carb Egg and Brocolli Quiche


Ingredients :

  • 3 cups egg whites
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 package of brocolli
  • 3/4 cup fat free cheddar cheese
  • Chopped fresh parsley 
  • Black pepper


Preheat oven to 350F. Spray baking dish with a nonstick cooking spray. Add egg whites to baking dish– I used a cast iron pan.  Add two large eggs and whisk into egg whites until combined. I added about 1/2 package of the brocolli– just so it covered the entire quiche.  Lastly, I covered the top with the fat free cheese, parsly, and pepper. 


Bake for about 30 minutes.  Do the jiggle test –jiggle the baking dish, if the middle jiggles then it needs more time baking!!

Let cool, cut, and enjoy!  This gave me 8 large slices that I was able to put into individual Tupperware containers for breakfasts all week!!


Yum yum!!

Macros for this slice (1/8 of quiche)

91 calories. 1 fat 1.9 carb 16 protein

It’s hard to beat that !! This would be even better with some crispy bacon added to the mix (what wouldn’t be better with bacon) BUT not extra bikini competition prep worthy !!  I’ll be doing that in a month for a brunch entree!

Hope you enjoy!! Get creative with your veggies and let me know what combinations you come up with!

5 thoughts on “Competition-Prep Friendly Egg Breakfast Quiche 

  1. I have vegies for breakfast all the time…funny, as a child we did sweet for breakfast all the time, when I grew up and found out that there was yummy healthy food for breakfast, well lets say I save the sweets for special occasions now, and I do eggbeater omelets with just about any veg in the fridge, you quiche looked yummy…..I always add a big sprinkle of turmeric and ginger on mine….adds another layer of flavor….getting excited for your upcoming competition…your going to knock the all off the runway…LOL

    Like

  2. This is a good idea that I will have to try. I also work third shift full time while also going to school full time, so trying to fit in working out and eating, period, is a difficulty.

    Like

  3. Made this on Sunday for my week’s breakfasts – did mine with a dozen whole eggs (yes fats plz) and zucchini topped with garlic, pepper, chili powder, and an Italian cheese blend. Tasty and easy and healthy!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Zucchini in Oatmeal (and 3 Weeks Out From Stepping On Stage!) | a health & fitness blog

Leave a Reply

