Zucchini in Oatmeal (and 3 Weeks Out From Stepping On Stage!)


I can’t believe that another week has gone by! Only three weeks shy of my first bikini competition.  Progress pictures above. Reflections of this past week are:

1. I have been slacking in the posing practice part– I haven’t been wearing my heels around the house to “get comfortable” walking in them either.  That may bite me in the booty later.  Goal for the next three weeks is to step up my game and practice, practice, practice!

2. Picking up from last week, I tried to stay around the 1,850 calorie/day diet.   I just felt tired.  I took a nap EVERY day.  By Thursday, it was time to work night shift, and I was a SNAIL.  I was moving so sluggishly and falling asleep charting at the computer at 10 pm — only 3 hours into my 12 hour shift.   I ended up eating a sticky cinnamon bun topped with candied pecans that was part of a baked good gift basket a patients’ family had brought in.  It was the calories and carbohydrates my body needed— I felt rejuvenated and the rest of the shift was a breeze.  YES, if I had a healthier, competition prep friendly carbohydrate (like oatmeal) I would have eaten that, but I was stuck at work with just the protein high food I brought.

I’m telling this story because I am not trying to hide the fact that I am human.  I am not pretending I am able to follow the cookie cutter “chicken, rice, broccoli for every meal” diet.  I’m sure many competitors will cringe at the thought of me fueling my carb deficit with a sugar-high sticky bun, but when my body is telling me something, I listen!  I will not let a competition turn me into a person that has an unhealthy relationship with food.  Food is the fuel for your body.

I decided I am sticking with what has been working and staying at 1900-1950.  It has worked thus far, I am already very lean–so “IF IT AIN’T BROKE DON’T FIX IT”, right?!  Still sticking to a 40% pro 40% carb 20% fat macro breakdown.

I have added more vegetables to my diet this week to avoid feeling hungry the majority of the day like last week.  This has definitely helped and adds volume to my meals.  I have added 1 cup vegetables to each meal prep.   I have also have been creative in adding vegetables to my breakfasts.  If you saw my previous post, I made a Low Carb Quiche with brocolli.  This was a good, high protein breakfast I was able to cook ahead of time.

I also began adding zucchini to my morning oatmeal..

I have seen “Zoats” on bikini/figure competitors’ instagram accounts– the idea never  sounded good enough to try until this past week (with the goal of adding vegetables to my day to limit feeling hungry).  I’m glad I gave in and gave it a try because It will be a staple breakfast for the remaining 3 weeks.   I KNOW, This is the craziest sounding concoction ever–but trust me, it has the same texture as oats.   I put an entire zucchini in my nutri-bullet with a little bit of almond milk, adding this mixture to my normal 1/3 cup oats with blueberries and cinnamon flavored nut butter  (occasionally a cinnamon flavored protein powder as well)  This has no different taste or texture than my normal morning oats, but it adds DOUBLE the quantity for only 26 extra calories and 4.5 carbohydrates!!!

  • 1 zucchini
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup oatmeal (depending on how hungry)
  • 1/4 c almond milk
  • 1 tbs cinnamon bun Gbutter  or nut butter of your choice
  • optional: cinnamon, protein powder, fruit of choice

First you grate your zucchini– I put mine in my NutriBullet blender with some almond milk and it becomes a pulp.  Add this pulp (or shavings) to instant oats and cook as you normally would—adding water and cooking per normal time.  I will add a 1:1 ratio of water to instant oats, and cook for 1-1:30 on high in the microwave.
  Above, I added protein powder so the substance is a little thicker.  Below, I added some cinnamon.  

Three Weeks Out Nutrition

Sample Day 1

Meal One: Preworkout

Coffee with 1 tbs. fat-free and sugar-free coffee creamer  and 1/4 c. almond milk

Oatmeal (made a large quantity–ate 1/2 of this with meal one, the rest with meal two)

  • 1/5c oats
  • 150g zucchini
  • 1/4c. blueberries
  • 1 tbs cinnamon roll nut butter
  • 1 scoop cinnamon swirl protein powder
  • 1/8 cup almond milk

Multivitamin

Intraworkout:

Amino Energy Strawberry Limade

Meal Two: Post Workout

1/2 of oatmeal from above

Quest bar

Meal Three:

5 oz. baked Cod

1/2 c. green beans

1/4 c. edamame beans

Meal Four:
 

2 slices Sara Lee 45 calorie delightful healthy bread

1 oz fat free cream cheese

1/3 c. blackberries

3.5 oz. Beef Jerky

Meal Five:


265g Peaches (1 large peach, cut)

Dip made from:

  • 1 cup Oikos nonfat greek yogurt
  • 1 tbs. cinnanon bun Gbutter (walnut butter—THIS STUFF IS AWESOME!)
  • 1 tbs. peanut butter

1 PLAIN, high protein Doughbar Doughnut

Totals:  1809 calories,    177g carbs,   41g fat,   194 pro

As you can tell, I had a terrible sweet tooth this day! I usually eat another meal prep meal (4 oz protein, 1 cup veggies, 1/3 carb) in place of meal four!  But I wanted to show you the options of flexible dieting— I stick to my macros and was able to eat things that were geared toward a dessert-craving mentality.

Workout-wise.

I started to incorporated working out 2x per day—at least on the days I don’t work (so, about 3x per week).  I will go to the gym in the AM for a normal training session– weight lifting and 45 min LISS cardio, then I would go back later in the evening for another 30 min LISS cardio session (Either 15.0 incline steady treadmill walk or stairmaster).   I’m pretty sure that after this competition is over I will avoid treadmills and stairmasters for A LONG time!  Strength training schedule is the same, and I continue to complete crossfit workouts, but tend to scale them down a little by breaking the sets up into smaller sets than normal–going at my normal intensity level wipes me out for the rest of the day.

Thank you again for sharing this journey with me!  Three more posts left ! 🙂

IMG_3180

5 thoughts on “Zucchini in Oatmeal (and 3 Weeks Out From Stepping On Stage!)

  1. I love how honest you are concerning your eating. I use to train with a team of competitors here in NYC, and these girls would drive themselves crazy trying to stick to the diet. Part of me wishes I had that intense dedication to just walk away but as you mention, it is important to listen to your body. And it’s definitely working for you! You look incredible! Can’t wait to see your stage shots!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Show Day Reflections and Advice for First Time Bikini Competitors | a health & fitness blog

Leave a Reply

