Simple and Healthy Breakfast Cookies

Hey everyone!!

I am excited to share another healthy baking recipe!  I had two very ripe bananas hanging around and I wanted to put them to good use–and trust me, I sure did!  These cookies turned out even better than I expected!  They are a perfect grab and go breakfast or snack.  I’m going to be using them pre-workout as they have a higher carb ratio.  Each cookie only contains 68 calories–so feel free to have more than 1.  They are thick and chewy like an oatmeal cookie, but less guilt.  The banana and sugar free syrup bring enough sweetness, without being overbearing or artificial tasting.

Ingredients needed for cookies:

  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup powdered pb (I used PB2 chocolate flavored) + 1/4 cup water
    • *If you do not have this, you can use 1/2 cup regular peanut butter or nut butter of choice, your macros will be different though
  • 3 cups instant oats
  • 1/2 cup sugar free syrup  (I used Walden Farms— calorie free and sugar free)
  • 2 tbs. ground flax ( I used the flax/chia mixture below–found this at walmart)
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 scoop (~50g)  protein powder  –I used Cellucor Cinnamon Swirl
  • OPTIONAL: nuts, chocolate chips, dried fruit, go crazy!

Preheat Oven to 325F.

Mash the bananas in a medium to large mixing bowl.  A fork or potato masher will do the trick.  Add your powdered peanut butter AND water to the bananas and mix thoroughly until it looks like a pudding consistency.

Add all the remaining ingredients to the bowl and mix well to incorporate.  (easy, huh?!)  Now, place cookies on a cookie sheet– I use the silicon baking liners so I do not need to grease the sheet, but I would recommend if you do not own these to use a little nonstick cooking spray to your cookie sheets!

To make the cookies, I used a measuring cup to get as close to equal cookies as possible.  I used 1/8 cup per cookie.   This made a total of 24 cookies.

I baked the cookies for about 12-15 minutes, until they were firm and a little golden brown on the bottom.  Try not to eat entire tray all at once.  I consumed with coffee right after baking while they were still nice and warm— mmmmmmmm 🙂

Macros for this recipe:  (recipe made 24 cookies total)  68 calories, 1.2 Fat  11.3 carb  3.7 protein
   the fats come from the flax and a little from the PB2–the healthy, good for you fats!  Sugars are only 2.5g, rest of the carbs are from the oats providing long and sustainable energy!  2g of fiber (so 9g Net carbs)  and 3.7 g of protein per cookie- what’s not to love?

Look and taste very similar to chocolate no-bakes.   Served deliciously with coffee, rocking my mighty weight lifting mouse mug!  Lift those weights everyone, it’s good for you!  These cookies should give you plenty of energy to do so!

Enjoy the cookies!  Happy Tuesday! 🙂

IMG_3180

2 thoughts on “Simple and Healthy Breakfast Cookies

Leave a Reply

