Product Review: The Lions Choice Protein and Superfood Bar 

 Now a days it seems like protein bars are being created just as poorly as candy bars.  High in sugars, fats, and carbs.  Don’t be fooled! Just because something is labeled as a “High Protein” Bar does not make it healthy.  Be mindful and read those ingredient lists and nutritional labels!  Hi everyone! I wanted to inform you of a new protein bar that I have stumbled across.  I feel compelled to share this company with you because I know those that are reading my blog are just as health-conscious as I am!

  The company is called The Lions Choice and it has my support 100%.  The Lions Choice makes a variety of protein bars, nut butters, and even pancake mix, each infused with superfoods* and probiotics!  Today I will review the protein bars, saving the high-protein peanut butter and the pancake mix for later posts. 🙂  I found The Lions Choice on Instagram through social media members I follow– I was intrigued by the low calories, high protein, and low fat content of the bars.  I am constantly looking for macro-friendly options now that I am beginning to prep for my second NPC bikini competition. I decided to visit the website and research for myself.  Not only are the macros of these protein bars good, they are made with great ingredients!!

Chunks of pretzel goodness in the salted caramel pretzel bar 🙂

Sugar free Marshmallows and pecan chunks in the Rocky Road— with little Lola eyeballing it 😛

Each bar is infused with nutrient dense superfoods* and made with natural ingredients –NO GMOs or sugars added. No GMOs mean they are made FRESH for your order! They are sweetened with Stevia. Even the coloring for the sprinkles in the Birthday Cake flavor are made from extract of spinach/beet/carrot–none of that red #5 or blue #30 crap!  The bars contain active probiotics to support healthy gut regularity just like greek yogurt!  They are all gluten-free and The Lions Choice also makes a line of bars that are vegan-friendly.

Ingredient list and Nutrition label for Birthday Cake Batter— all labels can be found online at The Lions Choice website

So, I could talk to you all day about how healthy and great the ingredient list is, but let’s be honest– you have no interest in consuming probiotics and superfoods if the bars taste like tar rubbed in dirt, right?  Well, YOU ARE IN LUCK, because not only are these bars extremely healthy and low calorie—they are AWESOME!  A total WIN-WIN.  I love them! I was pleasantly surprised at how great they tasted!  The texture was nice and chewy–not gritty or unappealing at all!  They are just as filling as any other protein bar I’ve tried (which was a big plus for me because I am a hungry, hungry, woman!!)  They can be baked into a crunchy cookie to help curb those late night cravings! (Just throw them in the oven 350F  for 5-7 minutes)  They have a variety of flavors to choose from including: Cookies n’ Cream, Salted Caramel Pretzel, Rocky Road, Mocha Biscotti Crunch, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough, Birthday Cake Batter, Macadamia Nut Cookie, Mint Chocolate Chip Cone, among others.


I love that you are able to build your own variety box– so you are able to choose any flavor you want to try without committing to an entire box like most protein bar companies.  You can try ten different bars if you purchase the 10-bar variety pack!  My personal favorite protein bars are the Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough with big bites of chocolate chips, Macadamia Nut Cookie– It has big chunks of whole macadamia nuts and gluten-free and no sugar added white chocolate chips!  Absolutely divine.  I also love the Birthday Cake Batter– soft and chewy with chunks of funfetti sprinkles! Tastes like batter to a vanilla cake!  Heaven.  Salted Caramel Pretzel is close behind.  This bar has chunks of gluten-free pretzels in the dough! Very yummy!  Rocky road has no sugar added marshmellows that provide a nice sweetness in your bite and pecans for some added crunch.  My mouth is watering as I type.  Grab a variety pack and pick your own favorites!!

The Lions Choice offers FREE Express Shipping on all orders over $40 in the United States and over $99 to most International Countries.  Use code “FREE40” at checkout for United Sates and use code “FREE99” International qualifying orders. MAKE SURE TO USE MY CODE: RXRACHAEL (case sensitive–all caps) for an ADDITIONAL DISCOUNT!! Can be used in combination with the free shipping discount!!

Not only are you purchasing great tasting and healthy protein bars, you are helping donate money for an excellent cause.  A portion of the proceeds from each sale is donated to the Dream 2 Achieve Kid’s Foundation.  This foundation has a mission of increasing youth participation in sports, fitness, and recreational programs.  Dream 2 Achieve uses its donations to provide underpriveldged kids with sporting equipment, footwear, and athletic appear, thus promoting a healthy and active lifestyle.  A mission to grant children a lifestyle of sports and exercise? I am all for that!

Check out http://www.thelionschoice.com/  to make an order! You can also find a lot of information about the products under FAQ.  All nutrition labels are located under the Nutrition tab–this is where you can find the macros and ingredient list for each individual flavor. The shelf life of the bars is 30 days in cool environment, but will keep longer if placed in the fridge or freezer–those instructions with specifics is found on the webpage as well.

*what are these superfoods I speak of?  Pasted from The Lions Choice Website: “Organic Wheat Grass, Organic Barley Grass, Organic Alfalfa, Organic Spirulina, Organic Spinach, Organic Chlorella, Organic Broccoli, Organic Dutch Cocoa, Redwood Cocoa, Organic Acai Berry, Organic Maca, Organic Carrot, Organic Beet, Raspberry, Organic Rose Hips, Organic Pineapple, Green Tea, Acerola Cherry”

I hope I have convinced you to try something new 🙂  They are my new favorite bars— kicking my usual Quest Bar routine out the window.  Don’t forget to utilize my discount code at checkout :  RXRACHAEL   You can use it as often as you want, it is not one of those “For first time buyers” discounts!  IMG_4735

Let me know in comments if you try or order some!  Comment what your favorite bar is or what flavor you’re looking forward to trying the most!

http://www.thelionschoice.com/   code: RXRACHAEL

I hope you love this company and all that they stand for as much as I do!  Don’t forget to give them a follow on instagram to be first to know about new flavors or deals!  @tlc_proteinbar

Enjoy 🙂

Happy Nurse!

IMG_3180

10 thoughts on “Product Review: The Lions Choice Protein and Superfood Bar 

  1. Pingback: Zucchini Pizza Boats | a health & fitness blog

      • Cool! Thanks! Could you compare the spread to Nuts n More? or Buff Bake?

        In any case- you’ve convinced me already and I just ordered! And now the painful waiting part!

        Like

      • I never had nuts and more and buff bake doesn’t impress me. I love the honey Graham flavor it’s the best PB I’ve had. I haven’t tried the new flavors yet –the maple donut or choco marshmallow. But can’t wait to do so!! I’m awaiting my shipment of those products now 🙂 🙂

        Like

  2. Pingback: The Lions Choice; Review: Protein Pancake Mix | a health & fitness blog

Leave a Reply

