Zucchini Pizza Boats

  If you know me, you know I am a lover of all things pizza! But, this love really nips me in the butt when it comes time for me to eliminate my weekly cheat meals for bikini competition prep. My next show is in November, only five short weeks away!  I really wanted to compete in another to see how I would do now that I know what to expect.  Also, I paid for the NPC entry card that is only good until the end of 2015, so I figured I should definitely get my moneys worth!  I’m really looking forward to prep this time around.  I feel comfortable with different recipes I’ve been working on, so I will be able to stay sane –not following the Tilapia and veggies diet for 5 straight weeks!  I found some great condiments, such as this Sugar-Free BBQ sauce at Walmart that I am excited to use for chicken–only 20 calories per serving!   I am happy to have found The Lions Choice protein bars, because they really appease my sweet tooth and have great macros (most under 170 calories with less than 5g of fat and 20g protein)

I’ve been experimenting with a lot of pure pumpkin and zucchini for recipes (I’ve been putting pumpkin in my oatmeal every morning, or mixing it with cinnamon flavored protein powder and fat free cream cheese for a decadent high protein spread/icing for toast)  I think I am going to begin experimenting with cauliflower next!  I used to make a cauliflower mash that tasted like mashed potatoes  that would be perfect for a low calorie meal prep.  I’ll be sure to post any and all  recipes for you to follow 🙂

So, I saw a recipe for Zucchini pizza crust– it contained grated zucchini, eggs, and cheese  baked as a crust for your pizza. I am on night shift so when I saw “grate zucchini and ring out excess water from zucchini shavings with paper towels…..” I knew I was feeling WAY TOO LAZY for that.  Sounds great, but not for that much effort today.. Maybe another time!  So I decided I would try just using the zucchini itself as the base for the pizza.  Turned out well!  My boyfriend was even pleasantly surprised at how good they were!  He was skeptical at first, being a veggie avoider, but scarfed two down in a couple minutes!

Ingredients for 6 boats

  • 3 large zucchini squash
  • Pizza sauce of choice (I used hunt’s tomato sauce, less sugars than “pizza sauce”)
  • 1 cup fat free mozzarella
  • nonstick cooking spray or olive oil
  • Garlic, to taste
  • Fresh basil, to taste
  • Toppings of choice– I used turkey pepperoni

So I began with preheating the oven to 400F  I cut each zucchini in half, pat dry with paper towel and set face down (cut side down) on paper towel.  When each zucchini is cut, I scraped out some of the flesh from the inside to leave a little reservoir to allow sauce to sit in.  Pat this dry again with paper towel.  Spray with non stick spray or thinly coat the zucchini with olive oil and top with garlic to taste.  Cut up fresh basil and add to your tomato sauce (optional)  Line a cooking pan with parchment paper and place each zucchini half on the cooking sheet.

  Add the sauce to your zucchini boats.  Spread out your 1 cup of mozzarella between the 6 zucchini halves (You may certainly use more if you prefer a cheesier pizza)  Add toppings.  Bake in the oven at 400F for 20-25 minutes.  If your zucchini are small, you may only need to bake for 15.  I added some red pepper flakes to mine when they came out of the oven.

Served with a little extra of the pizza sauce. and YUM!  Low carb pizza craving curber 🙂 Say that five times fast!

Macros: (2 zucchini boats) 130calories     1.3 fat    12.9 carbs   15.8 protein

That’s a whopping 65 calories EACH!

What’s better than a pizza night?  A pizza night without the guilt after!  My boyfriend and I were both filled after eating just 2, so I have 2 left over waiting for me tomorrow 🙂  

3 thoughts on “Zucchini Pizza Boats

  1. Pingback: Zucchini Pizza Boats — a health & fitness blog – *Get Fit With Krys*

Leave a Reply

