Homemade Dog Biscuits 

If you have dogs and are anything like me, your dog(s) are pretty darn spoiled! I had the idea to make them puppy cookies for Christmas.  I make Christmas cookies for my boyfriend and I, why not for my furchildren?!   Before the recipe, I want you to meet my pups!

This is Lola.  She is a 1 year old rescued mix from Sarasota Humane Society.  She was labeled as a “lab mix” but we believe she is at least half Australian Kelpie.  She’s a spunky and playful pup that loves peanut butter and cuddling.

This is Cooper.  Cooper is a 5 year old pit bull mix.  Cooper is the friendliest and most lovable dog!  He is also a rescued pup from a pitbull rescue in Pittsburgh, PA.   Cooper loves to give kisses and chasing the squirrels off of our property. Cooper is ready for christmas wearing his “Santy Paws” hat.

Cooper and Lola are the best of friends. They are inseparable and pretty darn cute if I do say so myself.. but, that may be a little biased 😛 Lola has on her holiday elf hat for the holidays!


Now, on to the recipe for the doggie cookies:

IMG_7367

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour, plus a little extra for rolling out
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup fat free milk
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter, melted
  • 2 tbs coconut oil

Doggy Icing:

  • 2 oz cream cheese
  • 3 tbs pure pumpkin
  • Water, to desired consistency

Preheat oven to 375F.

Combine all ingredients in a bowl. Form a ball and put dough on piece of parchment paper. Sprinkle dough with a little extra wheat flour. Place another piece of parchment paper on top and use rolling pin to flatten.

IMG_7369

Use Dog Bone Cookie Cutter or cookie cutter of choice to make biscuits and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper — or silicon baking sheets like pictured. I love these things! They come in great use for baking! Reusable and non stick! I use : Professional Silicone Baking Mat Set of 3

IMG_7366

Bake your doggie cookies for 12 minutes. Allow to cool.

Completely optional– doggies love the biscuits without icing as well!! But if you’d like to add the frosting. While the cookies are baking, make doggie icing by warming up cream cheese and adding in your pumpkin. Add a little bit of water until your desired consistency. I put my icing in a plastic bag and cut one corner to pipe it onto my doggie cookies

IMG_7371

Since I used cream cheese in the icing, I will be refrigerating these cookies until they are gone.  If you do not use the icing you can store in a air tight tupperware container in your cupboard.

Now, time for the pups to enjoy!  Cooper and Lola approve.  I bet your pups will too!  Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

