White Chicken Chili


The season of winter is finally being felt in Florida. The temperatures are hitting low enough to give me a chill — I won’t specify what these temperatures are because it will probably seem warm to most, but coming from 80 plus degrees on Christmas these Temps are cool and refreshing.  The perfect chill to make you crave comfort foods.  Comfort foods to me are best served hot. Anything with broths, gravies, or sauces.

I was open minded when grocery shopping for the week– unsure what I wanted to prepare for this weeks’ meals.  I found a great deal on ground chicken.  Each package of 1 lb was 3.99, 2 dollars off— so $1.99 each!  Needless to say I stocked up.  I immediately thought of my buffalo chicken meatballs (see recipes) and I pondered what else I could prepare.  I came up with the idea for a white chicken chili.  

I’ve never prepared this chili before, but I was picturing a spicy, salsa verde type base with chicken, peppers, and beans.  I would have added poblano peppers, but target supercenter did not seem to carry any.

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs ground chicken, or you could use a shredded chicken
  • 2 cans reduced sodium great northern white beans
  • 6 cups reduced sodium chicken stock
  • 1 can (4 oz) green chilis
  • 1 jar salsa verde
  • 2 jalapenos , diced (seeds removed for less spice)
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • Fresh cilantro, about 1/2 cup half bundle chopped
  • Toppings: extra cilantro, chopped , greek yogurt/sour cream

 

Cook ground chicken until cooked to internal temperature of 165F. Add 1 diced yellow onion and the green chilis.  Saute for 5 minutes to soften onions. Add in the rest of the ingredients excluding the toppings and bring to a simmer.  I kept the seeds of the jalapenos while chopping for a spicier chili.  It was the perfect amount of spice for my boyfriend and I.

Simmer soup for 15-30 minutes.

Top with chopped fresh cilantro, greek yogurt or sour cream, and fresh jalapenos if desired.

 

That’s all there is to it.  A very simple, very tasty chili that can be completed within 30 minutes.  This can also be easily made into a crock pot meal!

Macros for this chili (made 14 one cup servings)

Each serving is 1-cup. The calories and fat content can be reduced by using a white meat ground chicken or a shredded chicken breast, but the ground dark chicken is what I was using since I found it on sale.

Hope this recipe helps you warm up!  Enjoy

IMG_3180

 

One thought on “White Chicken Chili

Leave a Reply

