The Lions Choice; Review: Protein Pancake Mix

3c994-1443025411021Last year I was lucky enough to find the company “The Lions Choice” on instagram.  This company produces high protein, superfood infused products such as bars, peanut butters, and pancake mixes.  All products are gluten free, non-GMO, no sugar added, contain 20 superfoods, and include an active probiotic. If you remember, a few months ago, I presented you with my review of The Lions Choice Protein Bars. To view this page click here: The Lions Choice Protein Bar Review  As promised, I wanted to provide you with my review of their High Protein Pancake mixes.


The pancake mix comes in 12 ounce packages and, so far, comes in two delicious flavors.  There is a Cookie Dough flavor and a Cinnamon Twist flavor.


Both flavors are extremely simple to make– only requiring water to create fluffy, filling, high protein pancakes.   Each serving size creates approximately 3  4-inch pancakes.

Macros per serving ::  174 calories 2 fat 21 carb 18 protein


I have tried other brands of protein pancakes previously, but none quite compare to The Lions Choice.  Either the pancake was very dry and dense or the macros were not as good (either calories were very high or extra added sugar and carbs)  The Lions Choice has found the perfect ratio to fluffy pancakes without all of the guilt.  I can now enjoy pancakes on a weekly, even daily, basis.


I have experimented with the different mixes and have made items other than pancakes such as muffins, waffles, and pancake-battered apple slices.  All of which turned out excellent.


For the muffins, I just prepared the pancake mix as directed and cooked it in a mini muffin tin in the oven at 350F for 12-15 minutes.

For the Pancake-Battered apple slices– I sliced apples thinly and coated each piece in the Cinnamon Twist pancake batter on both sides.  I cooked on the stove top in a preheated and oiled pan until golden brown on both sides.


My favorite breakfast has got to be the waffles.  The crispiness from the waffle iron, yet fluffy airy texture of the pancake mix is a truly amazing and dreamy combination.  I usually add in vanilla extract and stevia powder to the cookie dough mix for a little added sweetness.  Occasionally I will add in treats like chocolate chips or sprinkles– because who doesn’t love treats?!  The Cinnamon Twist is perfect as is, it brings a perfect hint of cinnamon sugar to the pancakes/waffles.


If you are looking for a waffle maker, I highly recommend the one I own.  It is a rotating waffle maker like the ones you see at your hotels continental breakfast– this allows the batter to separate and creates a fluffy, delicate center– a Belgium style waffle.  It also has detachable plates so if you make a mess and your waffle sticks– you can throw the plates into the dishwasher without any fuss of cleaning.  It also comes with a washable dip-pan if you accidentally overfill the waffle maker (been there–done that!)  I have had absolutely no issues with this machine and I’ve used this waffle maker a hundred times since buying it in December!  It may be my favorite appliance 🙂 Here is the link to the waffle maker : Hamilton Beach 26030 Belgian Waffle Maker

Ultimately, I highly recommend these pancake mixes if you are looking for a fun and tasty way to get in extra protein in the morning!  Protein for breakfast helps keep you full longer and gives you additional energy to kick start your day.  To order yours today check out:  http://www.thelionschoice.com/

Use Code RXRACHAEL for a discount

I firmly believe you will love this company and their products as much as I do! Give them a try!

IMG_3180

3 thoughts on “The Lions Choice; Review: Protein Pancake Mix

Leave a Reply

