Mushroom Cap Personal Pizzas

If you know anything about me, it is that my obsession with pizza is REAL. It is my ultimate favorite meal– I wish I could eat it for every meal of every day, I promise I wouldn’t get sick of it, but I cannot. I am constantly coming up with healthy variations to satiate my pizza cravings. This variation uses a top of a portabella mushroom as the base for the pizza.  It is very simple to make.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Portbello Mushroom caps
  • 8 slices Turkey Pepporoni
  • 1/2 cup fat free mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce of choice
  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • Pinch of garlic powder


Preheat the oven to 350F.  Clean portabello mushroom cap gently with a moist paper towel.  Line a cookie sheet with tin foil, place mushroom caps top down.  Spray with nonstick cooking spray and add a pinch of garlic powder to each.

Add 1/4 cup sauce, 1/4 cup cheese,  And add 4 slices of turkey pepperoni to each mushroom cap.  I cut up my turkey pepperoni into tinier pieces to completely cover each cap–that way I was sure to get pepperoni in every bite šŸ™‚

Bake for 7-12 minutes, until cheese is melted and beginning to brown.  You could add chopped fresh basil at this point–that would be yummy. I just let cool a couple minutes and served immediately.

This guilt free pizza alternative is only 112 calories per mushroom cap!  You can’t beat that.  Only 10 carbs each with 1 gram of fat and 15 whopping grams of protein.  I do recommend this Hunt’s Basil, Garlic, and Oregano Tomato Sauce instead of  a “Pizza sauce” because it had fewer sugars and calories.

Try topping these pizzas with your favorite ingredients!  Adding peppers and black olives would be delightful! Garlic, chicken, and spinach would also be a personal hit šŸ™‚  Let me know if you give any other combo a try šŸ™‚

One thought on “Mushroom Cap Personal Pizzas

Leave a Reply

