Mushroom Parmesan Spaghetti Squash

So, I may have a new (and obvious) obsession with spaghetti squash.  It is so diet friendly and versatile! It is packed with vitamins and nutrients, low-carb, and low calorie. The texture is just like pasta and it’s flavor is whatever you cook it with! Hopefully I do not begin to turn yellow from all the extra beta carotene!  I have stumbled upon another flavor combination for the squash and it was my boyfriends personal favorite, so I figured I must share the recipe.

I got the inspiration from this dish from a trader joes Mushroom Risotto I found one day in the frozen food section.  (If you have a trader joes near you, I recommend it!) I love mushrooms.  And when I think of mushrooms, I immediately think of fresh rosemary.  I think they pair so well together. I am always sauteing mushrooms with a bit of fresh rosemary to top sirlion with.  So originally for the dish, I was thinking of incorporating some tender steak into the recipe as the protein content, but I only had ground turkey available–and honestly, I’m glad, because it turned out great and there is enough fat in the dish from the parmesan cheese!

 

 Ingredients

  • nonstick cooking spray
  • 2  1lb packages of Lean Ground Turkey (93/7)
  • 2.0 tbs minced garlic
  • 1 spaghetti squash, cooked and removed from the outside skin (I used exactly 866 grams– about 1 1/2 spaghetti squash– but it won’t affect the macros too much if you only use one)
  •  8-oz package of sliced baby bella mushrooms
  • 2 sprigs rosemary, chopped
  • 1.0 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 10 sprigs fresh parsley, chopped

In a large skillet or saute pan, coat with nonstick cooking spray and begin to cook your lean ground turkey.  Once cooked all the way through until no longer pink, drain the grease and put ground turkey in a separate bowl or large container.


In the same skillet,  coat once again with nonstick cooking spray and add in minced garlic and baby bella mushroom slices.  Cook until mushrooms are soft and tender.   Add in your cooked spaghetti squash and chopped rosemary.


Mix until thoroughly combined.  (At this time you can mix in your lean ground turkey–or you can serve separately * )


Top with the Parmesan cheese and chopped parsley.

Serve immediately with the ground turkey * In order for me to get an accurate measurement I did not mix my turkey into the squash, I served the mushroom spaghetti squash and topped it with 3 ounces of turkey per each serving


This recipe made 6 servings, I had 4  servings with 3.0 ounces of turkey and 2 servings with 4.0 ounces of turkey  (because I had 2.0 ounces of ground turkey remaining


The macros are listed for the 3.0 ounce servings:

Macros:   208 calories    8.6 fat  8.9 carb 1.7 fiber 21.2 protein

It almost reminded me of a stroganoff  that I used to order at Noodles and Company In Pittsburgh!  So good 🙂  enjoy !

 

IMG_3180

9 thoughts on “Mushroom Parmesan Spaghetti Squash

  1. I made this today and it’s really good. I’m not a fan of spaghetti squash or Rosemary but I figured I’d give it a go. I’m glad I did. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

